

NCURA Fundamentals of Sponsored Project Administration: Global

Tokyo Institute of Technology

Day 1

US Funding Opportunities and Management

9:00am - 9:35am: Opening Remark and Introduction

9:40am - 10:15am: Terminology and where to find funding

10:15am - 10:30am: Refreshment and networking break

10:30am - 11:10am: NIH Funding Opportunities (including subawards)

11:10am - 12:00pm: NSF Funding Opportunities (including subawards)

12:00pm - 1:00pm: Lunch

1:00pm - 1:35pm: Grant Submission

1:40pm - 2:15pm: Grant Negotiation

2:15pm - 2:30pm: Refreshment and networking break

2:30pm - 3:05pm: Grant Management

3:10pm - 3:45pm: Online submission/reporting system walk-through

4:00pm - 5:00pm: Financial regulation and rules

Day 2

9:00am - 9:30am: The Importance of International Collaboration in Basic Research and Science Diplomacy

9:30am - 10:15am: The Role of Research Administrators in International Collaboration and Best Practices

10:15am - 10:30am: Refreshment and networking break

10:30am - 12:00pm: Proposal Development

12:00pm - 1:00pm: Lunch

1:00pm – 2:15pm: Overview of other International Collaboration Opportunities (Horizon 2020)

2:15pm – 2:30pm: Refreshment and networking break

2:30pm - 3:30pm: Hands-on exercise: Proposal and Budget development for NIH and NSF

3:30pm - 4:30pm: IP and Technology Transfer

4:00pm - 5:00pm: Conclusion and Q&A

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

President

Georgette Sakumoto
University of Hawaii

Vice President

Anthony F. Ventimiglia

Auburn University

Treasurer

Shannon M. Sutton
Western Illinois University

Secretary

Denise M. Moody

Harvard University

Immediate Past President

Barbara H. Gray

East Carolina University

Executive Director

Kathleen M. Larmett National Council of University Research Administrators

Ralph L. Brown

Colorado School of Mines

Glenda A. Bullock

Washington University in St. Louis

Annika Glauner

ETH Zurich | University of Zurich

Julie Guggino

Central Washington University

Mary Louise Healy

Johns Hopkins University

Sue Kelch

University of Michigan-Ann Arbor

Katherine V. Kissmann Texas A&M University

Laura Letbetter

Georgia State University

Rosemary E. Madnick

University of Alaska Fairbanks

David J. Mayo

California Institute of Technology

Mario R. Medina

University of Texas Health Science

Center at San Antonio

Lisa E. Mosley
Yale University

Stacy A. Riseman

College of the Holy Cross

Toni Shaklee

Oklahoma State University