Research Support Activities

Suematsu Award "Fundamentals and Developments of Innovative Value Creation"


The Suematsu Award "Fundamentals and Developments of Innovative Value Creation" provides a broad range of support for researchers who are engaged in research that leads to "Innovative Value Creation" in the fields of science and technology. A broad range of support is provided for various fundamental research, including humanities and social sciences, especially, for research relating to the fundamentals of innovative value creation.
Former Tokyo Tech President and Honorary Professor Yasuharu Suematsu was awarded the Japan Prize in 2014 for his contributions to the development of high-capacity, long-distance optical fiber communications through his research at the Institute, particularly his groundbreaking research related to dynamic single-mode lasers. He donated a portion of the prize money to Tokyo Tech in hopes of encouraging young scientists and engineers to pursue research in diverse fields, develop new technology systems, and delve into the unexplored domains of science.Suematsu hopes to create a rising tide of activities that will progressively reveal the shape of the future. The Tokyo Institute of Technology Fund created the Suematsu Fund to promote research in line with Suematsu's vision. President and Representative Director Hisao Taki of Gurunavi Inc., a Tokyo Tech alumnus and supporter of the Tokyo Institute of Technology Fund since its inception, donated a significant additional sum, making the creation of this award possible.

FY2023 Application guideline【Internal】

※FY2023 application is closed.

FY2023 Award Winners

Three researchers were selected through the screening by internal and external judges. In addition, a special award (the Suematsu Innovative Research Award) was presented to a researcher for remarkable research achievements.

Affilitaion Title Name Research topic
Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering, School of Engineering Associate Professor Arai Keigo Geometric control of solid-state spins toward topological quantum simulation
Institute for
Liberal Arts
Associate Professor Nishida Ryosuke An exploratory study on the collection and analysis of good practices for AI utilization in e-government policies and the social implementation of AI
International Research Frontiers Initiative Specially Appointed Assistant Professor Yoshida Koki Development of molecular-digital hybrid technology by integration of DNA gelmolecular robot and electrochemical measurement

Suematsu Award 〝Fundamentals and Developments of Innovative Value Creation"
the Suematsu Innovative Research Award

Affilitaion Title Name Research topic
Research Center for All-Solid-State Battery,
Institute of Innovative Research
Institute Professor Kanno Ryoji Developed super lithium-ion conductor with world's highest conductivity solid electrolyte

Award Ceremony

On September 12, a ceremony was held to honor four Tokyo Tech researchers awarded the 2023 Suematsu Award.
Attending the ceremony were: the three award winners, and one special award winner, President Kazuya Masu, Executive Vice President for Research Osamu Watanabe, Honorary Professor Yasuharu Suematsu, Founder, Chairman and Director of Gurunavi, Inc. Hisao Taki, Professor Emeritus Katsuhisa Furuta, Fumio Honbo of the Tokyo Tech Alumni Association (Kuramae Kougyoukai), and the Executive Assistant to the President.

Memorial photo of the ceremony Commemorative photo of the ceremony

A presidential address was given by Masu, followed by congratulatory speeches by Suematsu and Taki. Then the three award winners gave presentations on their research. Following their presentations, they received questions and many words of encouragement.